How do I migrate my email address or phone number to another account? (app)

Published on Aug 22, 2023Updated on Jun 21, 20243 min read337

What's self-migrating email address or phone number?

It's a new feature that allows you to migrate your email address or phone number from a different account to your current account. Your current account remains active while the other account will be closed.

This function is only applicable when:

  • You want to update your current phone number or email address, but the new phone number or email address is linked to another account.

  • You want to link a new phone number or email address, but it's linked to another account.

How to migrate my email address or phone number?

  1. Open the OKX app, go to User Center, and select Profile

    Open user center menu in OKX app

    Select User Center at the top left corner

  2. Find Security center and select Email

  3. Select Change email address

  4. Enter your email address in the New email address field

  5. Select Send code in both the Verify new email address and Verify current email address fields. We'll send a 6-digit verification code to both your new and current email. Enter the code accordingly

  6. Enter the 2FA code to continue (if any)

  7. If the email you entered is linked/bound with another account, you'll see a pop-up message. Select Migrate email address to continue

    CT-app-EN-self merge-migrate email

    Select Migrate email address to continue

  8. A guideline will be displayed and you're required to select I understand

  9. Email transfer preview page will be displayed and you're required to select Next

  10. Consequences of closing account will be displayed. Please read it carefully and check the agreement boxes

    CT-app-EN-self merge-migrate email-close duplicate account

    Read through the consequences of closing the account

  11. Select close account and Yes, I'm sure to confirm the request

  12. Enter the 2FA code to complete the request

Note:

  • Transfer all the assets before migrating email from the other account, which will be closed to prevent data and asset loss.

  • You're not allowed to withdraw your assets after the account is closed.

  • Alternatively, you may log into the account you don't want to keep to close it. However, please note that you can only reuse your details once after the respective account is closed, provided your account is in good standing.